The option?

Got a couple of emails about my WHAS Radio appearance last night about a comment made about U of L and the option offense.

Just wanted to share my response here:

“The discussion at that point was about how little we really know about what we’re going to see from the U of L offense. Lach, I believe had thrown the word ‘option’ out there, very much in a joking way, and I mentioned that yes, I had seen U of L run an option play three times with each of the top three quarterbacks in one of the open practices.

“I wasn’t suggesting that Steve Kraghthorpe was thinking about running the option. In fact, my direct comment after that was, ‘I sure hope he’s not planning on using any of his quarterbacks that way!’

“The actual play in question was more like the ‘choose’ play that West Virginia runs with Pat White and Steve Slaton. U of L ran it out of the shotgun in the final open practice. And in each instance, the quarterback pulled the ball back and ran with it. You never know what you’re looking at. Sometimes the coaches just want to see what kind of mobility with the ball they’re dealing with. I just thought it was funny at the time, and threw it out there on the show.

“In reality, here’s what I expect of the offense (and what I outlined on the show): Less of the power run. More shotgun (maybe a lot more). More short passing. More passes in general. More one-back sets.

“But I think anyone weighing in on these matters — and I was careful to preface all my comments with this discussion — has to acknowledge that they can’t really know, because we just haven’t seen enough to form a complete opinion. And I’m not even sure we’re really going to know the true nature of this offense going into the Kentucky game, because we’re likely to see a pretty scaled-back version until then.”

Signing off.

11 thoughts on “The option?

  1. We are the best Uggs On Sale , you can choose the ugg cardy ,ugg boots online ,also you can visit our Mulberry Bag , Miu Miu Handbags , LV Bag , Jimmy Choo Handbags , and our online shop also sale timberland boots , timberland men shoes , timberland shoes , welcome to our ugg outlet .all bailey ugg boots are free shipping. ugg boots sale online . Tiffany & Co On tiffanycome

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

