More sports books

This morning, Rick Bozich weighed in with his annual list of top sports books published this year, so I’ll play a little off that and share a list of five of my favorite sports books published any year (though it’s by no means exhaustive or definitive) . . .

1. Cobb: A Biography, by Al Stump. Quite possibly the best sports biography ever written. A disturbing look at an athlete that would put many of today’s sports bad boys to shame.

2. A Season on the Brink, by John Feinstein. Still breathtaking, even 22 years later. I read it on the eve of taking my first full-time reporting job, which included covering Bob Knight’s Indiana Hoosiers, and was amazed at not only the intensity of the coach, but of the writing in this fantastic book.

3. Sports Illustrated: Fifty Years of Great Writing. I have to include one sportswriting compilation in here, and this is my favorite. I particularly enjoy the great Kentucky Derby writing included here — pieces from John Steinbeck, William Faulkner and Bill Nack’s marvelous piece on the death of Secretariat.

4. Paper Lion, by George Plimpton. He goes to training camp and tries out as a quarterback for the Detroit Lions. And writes about it excruciatingly well. This one is a classic.

5. Pafko at the Wall, by Don DeLillo. This novella was first published by Harper’s Magazine in 1992, then as a novella in 2001. In between, it was incorporated, with some changes to the origianl, as the Prologue to DeLillo’s novel Underworld, which I’d call one of the five best of my lifetime. It’s a fictionalized account of Bobby Thompson’s “Shot Heard Round the World” home run in 1951. It collects all of the prominent personalities that were present and is, despite its brevity, perhaps my favorite piece of sports writing. It’s a true example of the ability of fiction to transcend the limits of real life and actually leave you more enlightened about an event than, possibly, if you’d even been there.

These aren’t your average sports books. They’d probably fall into the category of more “serious” reads. A few Bozich mentioned, or didn’t, with local ties that are worth the time as well (not necessarily published this year) . . .

“Rebound Rules,” Rick Pitino with Pat Forde: The subject matter is what is so timely here. With so many people in tough economic or job situations, I think this one might have a great deal to say to many people in their current situations, from a coach who certainly is qualified to write the book on battling back from adversity.

“Sound and Fury,” Dave Kindred: This is a fantastic look at the strange and historic confluence of two titanic personalitites — Muhammad Ali and Howard Cosell.

“The Thin Thirty,” Shannon Ragland: A fascinating book published last year on a somewhat forgotten but dark period of the University of Kentucky football past.

Feel free to add your own favorites to the comments section . . .

10 thoughts on “More sports books

  1. No love for Roger Kahn’s “The Boys of Summer?” No such list can omit a book by Roger Angel–ANY book by Roger Angel. How about Jim Bouton’s “Ball Four,” the first time an ex-jock was candid in print about teamates. David Maraniss had a great book about Robert Clemente two years ago. And Red Barber wrote a wonderful book called “1947–The Year All Hell Broke Loose in Baseball.”

  2. That’s “Roberto” Clemente, of course. And the name is Roger Angell–with two l’s. I’m going to have to start using that “preview” feature.

  3. I’ve not read the Red Barber book, Bob, so I’ll have to get on that.But I’d heartily recommend Kahn’s “The Boys of Summer,” too. Let’s say it would make my second five. His 2006 book, “Into My Own,” is one I keep meaning to read and haven’t.It’s been a couple of years since I recommended Angell’s latest, “Let Me Finish,” in this blog. Though it’s more memoir collection than sports book, there’s an essay in there titled “Early Innings” that is some of my favorite work of his, as well as a piece on sailing that drew in even a decidedly land-locked Kentuckian, and my favorite Angell piece, which has nothing to do with sports but is titled, “Andy,” with some recollections of growing up around E.B. White.This is, of course, a dangerous exercise that can get out of hand very quickly. The Maraniss book still sits on a shelf of mine, ashamedly unread.I also forgot to add my favorite sports book published this year, which I meant to do in answer to Bozich’s column. It’s titled, “Everything They Had: Sports Writing from David Halberstam.”I may have to roll out a separate blog on that one.

  4. Larry Bird, DRIVE: The Story of My Life. By Larry Bird and Bob RyanI read this book as a middle schooler when it came out in 1989 and it truly inspired me.

  5. I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don’t know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.DeborahTerm Life Insurance

  6. 958217833691753816461 Above this engine, the Dofus Kamas PCB teams develop extensions that allow, among Buy Dofus Kamas other things, to find Dofus Kamas Pas Cher the mechanisms of “Trusted Site” and allow extensive Acheter des Kamas integration between the site and visited Pleognost Kamas Dofus Thursday gave as an example Achat DOFUS Kamas a site where a Cheap Dofus Kamas single click on a link gives you Kamas the possibility to register a vessel in fitting your saved Prix Moins Cher Dofus Kamas fittings (eg BattleClinic).

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

