Liberty Bowl Live!

Back in Memphis. The last time I was here, Bobby Petrino had interviewed with LSU on the way down and we thought he might get fired when we all got home.

He had finally done an interview about his “intention” to stay at U of L (after LSU passed) and I had been promised a phone call on the way home. I had my whole family with me, and I worked the phones on the drive back. An hour passed. No call. Another. No call. Then I got word that he’d call me at 7. Deadline approaching. Kids cranky.

We stopped at the Gaylord Opryland Hotel, where I figured I’d talk to Bobby, then write my story from somewhere in its cavernous spaces while my family wandered around. Seven o’clock. No call. Eight. None. Family goes to a restaurant. I stay in the car. No call.

It’s a glamorous life, let me tell you.

It also was 15 degrees for the game. Today, a gorgeous day in Memphis for the University of Kentucky’s matchup with East Carolina.

First, some commendations.

To the Flying Fish, which always delivers if you’re looking for quick and inexpensive in Memphis.

And to Silky Sullivans. I walked in, and within 15 minutes I heard this dizzying musical array in its various rooms: Marty Robbins, Elton John, Lil’ Wayne.

Keepin’ it diverse.

But still, Memphis remains an adventure.

I was on the phone about 10 this morning, and look out the window to check on my car parked on the street and I see two guys loitering around it, then one of the guy starts trying to bash in the back passenger window with his fist. I sprint down seven floors, get out there, tell them to get away from the car and the younger guy, in a Memphis Tigers T-shirt, jumps out at me and tells me it’s his car and invites me to do something I’m pretty sure I can’t do.

I call the police. He continues to scream that it’s his car. I stand across the street with a cluster of Cat fans and we see his buddy, who turns out to be a homeless guy, try to kick in the back window. Unsuccessfully.

Anyway, the cops get there, and it is all sorted out. They were supposed to be watching a car that looked just like the one I was in just a few cars up the street. The girl who owned that car showed up, his keys matched. So they uncuffed the guys and let them go. Memphis police were very professional with all. I still don’t know why they were trying to kick the window out of a friend’s car, but whatever.

Let that be a lesson to you all who are too cheap to valet park.

And what does any of this have to do with the Liberty Bowl? Absolutely nothing. We’ll get to that soon. I’m heading to the stadium, where Jody Demling and I will be live blogging throughout the game, and you’re all invited.

More to come . . .

17 thoughts on “Liberty Bowl Live!

  1. The day of the Boise State/UL Liberty Bowl you mentioned was not 15 degrees, it was more like 75. I wore a T-shirt with no jacket, and wished I had shorts instead of jeans. UL did play in some cold Liberty Bowls, but not that year.

  2. All timberland shoes are cheap sale, comfortable, popular and beautiful! We sales the timberland boots, ugg boots and mbt shoes online for men, women and kids. You can choose the timberland classic boots, ugg classic boots and ugg australia boots in our shop online. We have the most beautiful women's boots, such as: timberland women's 6 inch, women's high top, women's roll-top and so on. And we also offer timberland men's custom boots, timberland men's classic boots and timberland classic 3 eye lug boots. welcome to shopping, and we'll give you the best service!!!

  3. Hot sale the Australia UGG Boots online,and we also can offer the designer bags,you can choose the newest ugg boots ,mbt shoes ,timberland boots , and jimmy choo bags ,mulberry bag , miu miu bag , lv bag , chanel bag , and other designer handbags ,our classic ugg cardy are the best quality ,and classic tall ugg are hot sale for these month , also you can choose the ugg new style , ugg bailey button boots , the timberland shoes are hot sale for these days,you can purchase cheap designer bags or uggs ,maybe you will recieve the ugg boot with a mbt shoe as a gift.

  4. We are the best Uggs On Sale , you can choose the ugg cardy ,ugg boots online ,also you can visit our Mulberry Bag , Miu Miu Handbags , LV Bag , Jimmy Choo Handbags , and our online shop also sale timberland boots , timberland men shoes , timberland shoes , welcome to our ugg outlet .all bailey ugg boots are free shipping. ugg boots sale online . Tiffany & Co On tiffanycome

  5. We are the best Uggs On Sale , you can choose the ugg cardy ,ugg boots online ,also you can visit our Mulberry Bag , Miu Miu Handbags , LV Bag , Jimmy Choo Handbags , and our online shop also sale timberland boots , timberland men shoes , timberland shoes , welcome to our ugg outlet .all bailey ugg boots are free shipping. ugg boots sale online . Tiffany & Co On tiffanycome

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

