More on Stinson

Back from Syracuse, finally, and catching up on email and responses from today’s column on the death of PRP football player Max Gilpin and the indictment of coach Jason Stinson. You can read it by clicking here, if you missed it.

I want to thank everyone who responded via email or voice mail — even posting on my Facebook page. The responses confirmed what we all knew, there’s not a single side to this situation that isn’t a sad one.

I’ve heard from guys who have been coaches for 20 years. I’ve heard from parents. I’ve heard from former athletes. I’ve heard from people who are livid at Stinson to people who supported him enough to attend a vigil for him.

This was a difficult column to write. I don’t think it’s my place to voice an opinion on Stinson’s guilt or innocence. Certainly, I believe he didn’t begin that day with the intent that any harm come to his players. And I’m sure he’s going to live with what happened for the rest of his life, and that’s a pretty stern punishment in itself.

My criticism today was pointed at the school district for not immediately realizing the seriousness of this situation and acting accordingly.

And, frankly, it was to say that it’s time that the courts begin to take hard looks at these incidents. They continue to happen, even though the medical community says they are totally preventable. So if coaches and school districts can’t get on top of the problem, maybe an indictment might clue them into the fact that these deaths need to stop. Completely.

I was encouraged by the responses I got today. Some agreed with me and some did not, but everybody I heard from had well-reasoned positions that weren’t based in sheer emotion, and that readily acknowledged that both sides of this story deserve proper respect.

This has now become a national story and, frankly, I’m little wary of that. What happens when something becomes a national story is that you get talking heads staking out positions and trying to shout each other down.

It’s as if everyone breaks into teams. You’ve got the Sinson team and the Gilpin team and you let the competition fly. But this isn’t about being right, or winning an argument. It’s why I used the terminology today that this isn’t a game. You can’t stifle debate, which is one of the things our society is all about. But you can keep the tone in line with reality — that a kid has died and a lot of people are hurting.

Once a story goes national, things happen to it. Personalities involved are redefined. Storylines are streamlined and simplified, usually oversimplified.

I do not plan to weigh in during the course of the trial. I think, having said my peace today, I’m likely to sit until all the facts are presented. But I thought it was important today to reiterate the importance of the courts getting involved in this case, and the absolute necessity of getting serious about these deaths.

10 thoughts on “More on Stinson

  1. Eric–that was a good article you submitted on Stinson. It wasn’t biased or insulting–it was the TRUTH! I first called the reporter who had written the story and asked why he had put that little box in there to call the local school board, and he told me he didn’t–the paper itself did or the school board called and had it submitted that way. I wasn’t there on the day Max Gilpin collapsed, but I had been there on other days, and this coach is a bully–a lot like Billy Gillispie is.He kept on keeping on with these kids. He never let up not one time and u could see the intimidation on the players’ faces. IT IS THIS SIMPLE: IF U SAY ANYTHING TO OR ABOUT A COACH LIKE STINSON THEN U DON’T GET TO PLAY! I thank God for reporters like you that are unbiased! And, it is the biggest coverup in history! I am planning to submit a Facebook or Myspace page and try to see how many supporters we have for the Gilpin case in court On March 20th. The school board just blew me off, and by this time i had not only talked to that reporter I had also spoken with the Governor’s office who referred me to the KHSAA! The KHSAA only makes the rules; they don’t have sufficient funds to overlook each school. Players and parents need to know they can submit their complaints to the KHSAA and remain anonymous while they investigate cases such as this one! The athletic director, coaches, and even teachers and principals sure aren’t gong to tell them this! If we as fans have a complaint then we can either call or e-mail them ourselves. Keep up the good work! Godspeed! Prayers and thoughts go out to the Gilpin and Crockett families! RIP, Max-we will not let you be forgotten-we will move forth and speak for YOU!

  2. All timberland shoes are cheap sale, comfortable, popular and beautiful! We sales the timberland boots, ugg boots and mbt shoes online for men, women and kids. You can choose the timberland classic boots, ugg classic boots and ugg australia boots in our shop online. We have the most beautiful women's boots, such as: timberland women's 6 inch, women's high top, women's roll-top and so on. And we also offer timberland men's custom boots, timberland men's classic boots and timberland classic 3 eye lug boots. welcome to shopping, and we'll give you the best service!!!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

