Two All-Americans, no Final Four?

It’s not as unusual as you might think.

The University of Kentucky had John Wall and DeMarcus Cousins named first-team All-Americans by the Associated Press today after bowing out in the Elite Eight.

How many other teams with two first-team AP All-Americans have failed to make the Final Four? Plenty.

Among the great duos of first-team AP All-Americans not to make a Final Four are Michael Jordan and Sam Perkins of North Carolina and Paul Pierce and Raef Lafrentz of Kansas — who lost in the second round in 1998.

Of the past six times it has happened, only two of those teams have made the Final Four and only one (Duke in 2001) won a championship.

It’s happened nine times, including this year, with a pair of Elite Eight finishes, a Sweet Sixteen finish, a national runner-up and four national champions.

So, by my calculations, it’s happened nine times, with five of the teams making the Final Four.

A look at schools that have had two first-team AP All-Americans in the same year:

2010, Kentucky (John Wall, DeMarcus Cousins), Elite Eight
2006, Duke (J. J. Redik, Shelden Williams) – Elite Eight
2001, Duke (Jason Williams, Shane Battier) – NATIONAL CHAMPION
1998, Kansas (Raef Lafrentz, Paul Pierce) – Lost in second round
1991, UNLV (Stacey Augmon, Larry Johnson) – Lost in national semifinal
1984, North Carolina (Michael Jordan, Sam Perkins) – Sweet Sixteen
1976, Indiana (Scott May, Kent Benson) – NATIONAL CHAMPION
1974, UCLA (Bill Walton, Keith Wilkes) – NATIONAL CHAMPION
1949, Kentucky (Ralph Beard, Alex Groza) – NATIONAL CHAMPION


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Blog at

%d bloggers like this: